what matters?

“Anything I put before my God is an idol
Anything I want with all my heart is an idol
Anything I can’t stop thinking of is an idol
Anything that I give all my love is an idol”
(Clear The Stage – Jimmy Needham)

This is not found in the Bible nor is it chiselled in stone, but this bridge always serves as a structure when I think about what matters in my life.

Sometimes I feel so devoted and given to a certain cause or a certain ministry or a certain duty that I breakdown easily because I forget why I was so devoted and so given in the first place. It is so easy to be lost in doing, so lost in working for the results… but at the end of the day, what matters?

I learnt from a MLWrite’s masterclass that the first question we should ask ourselves before writing a story/testimony/piece is this: Why does this story matter to you?

When thinking about what matters, this question seems to be something I’m asking myself more and more nowadays. Whenever I feel emotional over a terrible quiz result: Why does this result matter to me? or Why does doing well matter to me? (and i know that it matters to me mostly because I came to Uni thinking that I will finally do well in school, and when that didn’t go how I wanted it to, I crumbled a little.) Whenever I sleep really late because I’m journalling or writing these kinda long posts (lol): Why does writing all these matter to me? (and i know it matter because I… have bad memory and I think these are vital in helping me grow as a person) etc etc

Why do I do what I do?
Why do I think what I think?
Why do I feel what I feel?

It’s not so much about having a reason for everything, but I think it is a healthy practice to know you heart intentions and your heart devotions. And there, is Jesus to be found? Or are there idols I need to destory?

What matters to me?

Leave a Reply

